SRCUS Awards

The following two prestigious honors are awarded annually as part of the Southeast Management School program. Learn more about the awards and past recipients.

Hugh Watson Award

The Hugh Watson Award recognizes an outstanding third-year student that demonstrates the characteristics of leadership and excellence – traits embodied by Hugh Watson, the award’s namesake. Selected by vote of their classmates, the chosen recipient is valued for their exceptional contributions made to the class over the course of the three-year program and their outstanding leadership skills.

Hugh Watson joined the SRCUS faculty in 1971 and during his tenure, he taught in all three years, served as academic coordinator and facilitated the third-year simulation for 43 years. Upon his retirement from SRCUS in 2015, the Hugh Watson Award was established.

Tom McWilliams Service to SRCUS Award

The award, named in honor of the late Tom McWilliams, recognizes a student that exemplifies empathetic leadership, inclusiveness of others and appreciation for their perspectives, excellent communication and listening skills, and a commitment to service and willingness to participate. McWilliams was an advocate for the credit union industry for over 30 years and had a tremendous passion for career development, serving as senior vice president for the Mississippi Credit Union Association and as vice chair for SRCUS until his passing on March 11, 2022.

First-, second-, or third-year students are eligible for the award. A recipient is determined following onsite observations by management school faculty and staff on who stands out as leader that goes above and beyond to extend help and service to others during the program.

In addition to the award, SRCUS makes an annual donation to McWilliams’ favorite charity, the Children’s Miracle Network (CMN). Funds are dispersed to the CMN Chapter in or close to the city where the year’s award recipient resides.